Great documentary

I saw a coach hustle out of the dugout after a recent well-played inning by the softball team on defense in the half-inning. His only word was, “Boom!” to express his delight at the crisp fielding.

After seeing “Life Itself,” I had the same emotion. Usually the comparison for a great film is a comment such as, “The director hit it out of the park.”

I’d like to echo the coaches’ word: “Boom!” It short, punchy, cheeky, argumentative and not quite what is expected.

That’s the work of director Steve James and Roger Ebert in this documentary. Both understand films. Both wanted to make a film that told the truth. I think the pair did that.

My attention never flagged, and the film moved me deeply in several parts. I got a good sense of who Ebert was as a person, not too white-washed, not quite idolized.

I wish I could have seen this work shortly after its release in a movie palace and been able to join the audience with a thumbs up, but with the coming of personalized entertainment, I was able to see it at home on computer screen, although much later than I would have wanted.  That will have to do, and, since Ebert was an enthusiast for the democratizing of film criticism, I can console myself that seeing it at home was acceptable.

Roger’s dream of seeing more film criticism is well under way. There are at least three blogs I follow of writers who seek out films not shown in popular places, so my enthusiasm for films is in no danger of thinning.

If you love film, see “Life Itself.”

Leave a Reply

