Read, read, read

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Ready, Set, Done.”

Usually at this time of the evening (11:39 to be exact this evening) I’m looking at my stack of reading and wondering where it will all go. I love the idea of having a mix of reading material come together for an instant with a congruence of some sort.

The stuff I have in a pile on the floor, arranged from smallest to largest or largest to smallest, depending on the direction I’m going, beckons at all hours of the door.

Here’s the list:

The Annals of Iowa: currently I’m reading a piece on the family that moved the early Des Moines Register newspaper into prominence.

I just got done reading David Mitchell’s Cloud Atlas, and that’s been tossed underneath the Christmas tree (which won’t be coming down anytime soon… too much work. I guess we’re waiting for the three scholars from the East to visit, I don’t know).

I’m on my second time through Team of Rivals by Doris Kearns Goodwin, this time paying more attention to the footnotes. (How does an author write such glorious biography? That book represents almost superhuman abilities!)

I’ve just about finished the Wheel of Time saga, started by Robert Jordan and finished by Brandon Sanderson. A Memory of Light is the 14th? book. The worlds that fantasy and science fiction writers create beckon. So much and so little time!

There’s the EOS 7D tips book by David D. Busch. That volume is getting dog-eared by now.

There are magazines, too, Public Power (I follow our city council and other local governments, and local utilities are powerful factors in a town’s life.) and the annual report listing electrical utilities in every city in the U.S. and a province or two, and the winter issue of Inspire(d), an arts piece that details creativity in the Driftless region to the east of northwest Iowa. I’m working through a backlog of MacWorld magazines. (I will reach the end, since it is not printed on paper anymore.) I’m waaaay behind in my American Photo magazine subscription. (There is no way you’re going to rush me through those glorious photos.)

I’ve just begun reading a couple of Christmas gifts, one The Art of Richard Thompson, a cartoonist  that is in the process of being venerated by his community, the other a first edition of Ansel Adam’s Yosemite and the High Sierra. I’m in it for the long haul with those two.

Last, but not least are back issues of Rolling Stone and Billboard. There is no way I’ll even get caught up there. The stack is nearly up to my knees.

There is no congruence… yet. Maybe there will be, although it’s been years since I began this reading habit. But, the variety keeps my mind spinning. And, it’s never boring.

<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/ready-set-done-3/”>Ready, Set, Done</a>

One thought on “Read, read, read

Leave a Reply

